20 Sexy Singles: Jenny Chalk

Jenny Chalk, 32

marketing coordinator

The perfect date: Dinner and drinks, especially to start out with. It's a good opportunity to talk, see what makes my date tick and see what we have in common. A walk in a neighborhood is a good place to start.

Something most people don't know about me: I enjoy singing. I do open mic nights, and I love karaoke. My go-to song is Crying by Aerosmith.

My passion: Writing, even from when I was little.

My favorite ... sports team: The Cavs. I like going to the game and the whole atmosphere. I also love Moondog. I think I have a little crush. ... musician/band: Prince during his "Raspberry Beret," "Purple Rain" phase and before the whole symbol thing. ... TV show: New Girl. I definitely relate to the quirky girl. She reminds my friends a lot of me. I was even New Girl fan of the week on my birthday. ... place in Cleveland: My neighborhood in Tremont. I love walking around there. I like to go down by the pier, especially in the summer. I take a book out there and write. I write short stories — I majored in creative writing — I write poetry. I also have a blog: fromchalkwithlove.blogspot.com. It's just random daily stuff. ... book: In The Lake of the Woods. I've reread it a bunch. I also love Shel Silverstein's The Giving Tree. ... vacation destination: Hilton Head, S.C. My family has gone there every year for 15 years with all the nieces and nephews. ...way to exercise: I like running on the treadmill better than running outside. I like tracking my goals and speed. ... month: September. It's my birthday month, and I get excited for my birthday. ...website: I check Facebook at lunch every day. ... drink: Dirty martinis with blue cheese stuffed olives. It's the perfect compliment to girls' night.

My usual hangout: It depends who I'm with, but I hang out a lot in Tremont and Ohio City. Some favorite spots are Flying Monkey, South Side and the Bier Markt.

In high school I was ... shy for sure. With close friends I was more of a goofball.
And now I'm ... much more outgoing, though I still have shy moments. I'm comfortable with myself, and I'm still a bit of a goofball.

My No. 1 dating rule: Be yourself right off the bat.

My deal-breaker: Lying in the relationship.

On a first date I never ... talk about past relationships.

Biggest turn-on: A sense of humor — a little goofy is good.

Biggest turnoff: Someone who is rude to others. I pay attention to how people treat others.

My hidden talent: Singing!

I own too many: Leopard prints: shoes, wallet, accents. It's turned into a small obsession. I even wore one leopard print item every day for an entire week.

My best feature: Smile.

My bad habit: Worrying too much, over-thinking and cracking my knuckles.

My first kiss: Not until my freshman year in college; I was a late bloomer.

My guilty pleasure: Taco Bell and Carly Rae Jepson.

How my ex would describe me: I hope that he'd say laid-back, easy to get along with, funny, a sweet girl, the one who got away.

How my best friend would describe me: A good listener, easy to talk to, funny, fun to go out with and chill on a Sunday watching reality TV.

Going out or staying in: A little bit of both, but really more going out. I like being out and there's lots going on. I like to go to bars with friends, or a gallery.

Early, late or right on time: Right on time is right answer, but usually a few minutes late. Wait; maybe that's a bad habit.

Morning person or night owl: Night owl. Once I'm awake, I'm up and happy, but getting out of bed can be a little tough.

Dogs or cats: Dogs.

iPhone or Android: iPhone.

Dancing ... yes or no: Yes, I find myself dancing anywhere there's music on, even the grocery store. If you see my cart and hear music, you might have to look around a little to find me dancing somewhere.

Twitter ... yes or no: I'm on and tweet, but not too often.

My longest relationship: Less than a year. I've never been a person who needs to be with someone just to be in a relationship. It's a matter of meeting the right person who makes it more fun to be in a relationship.

My biggest goal right now: I want to get back to writing and getting a book of my stories published.

Celebrity crush: Many! Justin Timberlake.

Most unusual place I've met someone: One time I was leaving a restaurant in Tremont with friends, and a guy came out and followed us out of the restaurant, and didn't want me to leave without getting my number. Once I realized he wasn't a psycho, it was flattering. We went out once.

My take on Cleveland's single scene: The nightlife and galleries always offer lots of event and things going on. It's kind of tough to meet people, because I'm shy but there are lots of opportunities.

What do you find sexy about yourself? Laid-back attitude. I'm pretty easy to get along with.

Why do you think you are single? I haven't met the right person.
Share this story: